An American Prayer [180-gram Black Vinyl]

This release features the newly remastered album, pressed on 180-gram black vinyl with painstakingly recreated artwork including the original gatefold jacket and 8-page illustrated libretto.

More than seven years after his death – Jim Morrison was back on the turntables of rock fans with AN AMERICAN PRAYER. This 1978 Elektra collection was built around the infamous poetry recordings the performer had made in 1969 and 1970, with instrumental backing provided by bandmates John Densmore, Robby Krieger and Ray Manzarek, making this in effect the final Doors album. There is a killer live version of “Roadhouse Blues” included here, and Morrison's gift for striking lyrical imagery is in full effect, and the musical accompaniment is eerily sympathetic. The list of platinum-selling spoken word albums is a pretty short one, and AN AMERICAN PRAYER earned a place on it by channeling the spirit of one of rock's all-time greatest poets.

Track List
Side One: 
  1. Awake
  2. Ghost Song
  3. Dawn's Highway
  4. New-Born Awakening
  5. To Come Of Age
  6. Black Polished Chrome
  7. Latino Chrome
  8. Angles And Sailors
  9. Stoned Immaculate
  10. The Poets Dream
  11. The Movie
  12. Curses, Invocations
Side Two: 
  1. World On Fire
  2. American Night
  3. Roadhouse Blues
  4. Lament
  5. The Hitchhiker
  6. An American Prayer